Latest News

Please check back here regularly for the latest announcements.  This website will be updated as further details are confirmed.  

ANGC2023 logo.jpg

15th Australian Narrow Gauge Convention - back on track

23rd July 2022

The 15th Australian Narrow Gauge Convention is proceeding in 2023!  

There's been a few hiccups in getting this next instalment of the Australian Narrow Gauge Convention off the ground (to be fair, a little glitch called COVID, lockdowns and a world of uncertainties made planning near impossible), but we are proud to be announcing that we are back on track to hosting this event once again over the Easter long weekend of 2023 (April 7th-9th).

Plenty of background work is underway to coordinate a fine collection of layouts and displays from around the country, and we are gathering up the knowledge of a bunch of willing presenters to host a variety of clinic topics.  It will be 4 years since we've been able to all assemble and enjoy this specialist weekend, and the people I've been chatting to are keen as mustard to get together once again and share the convention experience.

This website will be undergoing a number of updates in the coming months as plans can be announced, so please revisit regularly to see what's new.  The numbers are currently being crunched and Registration details will hopefully be published in the very near future. 


The latest addition to this website is the announcement of our contest categories.  Many of the usual categories are back as expected, so we look forward to seeing what new models have been worked on during this extended break between conventions.  We have also re-introduced the "Whole Train" category.  Limited to a length of 1200mm or 1.2m (essentially so we can offer appropriate display space in the contest room for these longer entries), you can now assemble your favourite short train to share with others at the convention.  We have also announced our "special category" for this convention, The 4x4 Challenge.  It's a restricted space category, limited to working within the confines of a 4-inch x 4-inch square (just make it 10 cm x 10 cm if you need it spelt in metric).  We look forward to seeing where a bit of creative thinking leads you with this new challenge.  Our previous small-size challenge (The 90mm Challenge, Geelong 2017) was hugely popular with a great variety of entries.

It feels good to be back, and great to be getting a kick of enthusiasm about the convention as it begins shaping up into another memorable event.


Dan Pickard
On behalf of the Australian Narrow Gauge Convention organising committee