top of page

About us

The Australian Narrow Gauge Convention would not exist without the efforts of a volunteer group of enthusiasts who offer their time to assist with the planning and organising of these events.  We each share a passion for narrow gauge railways, and dedicate our time to see that these events continue to be a source of inspiration for other like minded narrow gauge enthusiasts from around Australia.

About ANGC Inc

Since 1996, the Australian Narrow Gauge Convention has been a rallying point for narrow gauge modellers.  From its inception, the Convention has thrived on the sharing of ideas, techniques, knowledge and enthusiasm for narrow gauge railways.  All of the presenters and layout owners have freely given their valuable modelling time and effort to provide material of interest to all attendees.  Their passion for, and willingness to share information embodies the very spirit of narrow gauge. Each Australian Narrow Gauge Convention is run as a Not For Profit event, where any proceeds remaining following the event help with future event planning, and where possible donations are made to supporting preservation railways.

At the start of 2018, Australian Narrow Gauge Convention Incorporated (ARBN 624 139 126) was established as a Registered Australian Body, with the intent to form a representative group of enthusiasts with a keen interest in overseeing the hosting and management of this event.  This new entity will also set standards by which all future Conventions will operate.



The Australian Narrow Gauge Convention Committee


Chairman: Dan Pickard

Registrar: John Humphrey

Trade Co-ordinator: Geoff Potter
Layout & Display Co-ordinator: Dan Pickard

Clinic Co-ordinators: David Price, Rod Hutchinson

Publication Editor: Gary Kirby

Contest Co-ordinators: Grant McAdam, Peter Kendall



Australian Narrow Gauge Convention History


1996 - Heathmont (Melbourne, Victoria)

1997 - Heathmont (Melbourne, Victoria)

1998 - Blackheath (Blue Mountains, New South Wales)

1999 - Brisbane (Queensland)

2001 - Mitcham (Melbourne, Victoria)

2003 - Parramatta (Sydney, New South Wales)

2005 - Albury (New South Wales)

2007 - Noble Park North (Melbourne, Victoria)

2009 - Parramatta (Sydney, New South Wales)

2011 - Ipswich (Queensland)

2013 - Noble Park North (Melbourne, Victoria)

2015 - Bowral (New South Wales)

2017 - Geelong (Victoria)

2019 - Erina Heights (Central Coast, New South Wales)

2023 - Noble Park North (Melbourne, Victoria)

2025 - TBA

bottom of page